Competition time for Griffith cyclists

Written by admin on 05/07/2018 Categories: 苏州美甲美睫培训学校

Two Griffith Cycle Club riders travelled out of townearlier this month to contest division twoof the Wagga Open.

Kingsley Massey and Peter Budd were carrying impressiveform from the recent masters championships and were hoping forgood results in the 80km handicap event.

The course wastwo laps of a reasonably hilly circuit,the first major obstacle coming6km into the racewhen riders begana 2km climb with gradients topping 16 per cent.

Massey started in the second limit group, whichlost three riders afterthe first climb.

The hills in the middle half of the course soon had thegroup down to seven riders before an 800-metrestretch of gravel road resulted intwo punctures and reduced the Massey grouptofive workers.

Elsewhere in the race,Budd started in the scratch bunch andnegotiated the first series of climbs. His group was travelling fast, but the chopping block group wasprogressing to the front of the race.

With 20km to ride, the race was down to achase between the scratch and chopping block groups.

The block group held its nerve to contest thewin,with Wagga’sTroy Brooker claimingthe race.

Budd continued his great form towinthe sprint for fastest time honours, earninganother trip to the podium.

In other news, Griffith Cycle Club A grade time trial champion Angus Harris added the road title to his list of triumphs at the recent club championship.

Harris had to earn the win, theAgrade race coming down to a sprintbetween him, Budd, Mal Blake and Phil Twigg in the final straight.

Budd and Blake were intent on watching each other, andHarris used this to his advantage todropback a little andlaunch anattack. His effort caught the others by surprise and he quickly gaineda 30-metrelead.

Blake and Twigg chased hard, but the line came to fast to catch the fading Harris, who took a sensationalwin.

Blake finished second, with Twigg third.

In the women’s race, defending champion Bron Jones made it athree-peatwhen she won the women’s title and the C grade event.

Tony Deligante (B grade) and Jack Trimboli (D grade) were the other winners.

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美甲美睫培训学校.

Comments Off on Competition time for Griffith cyclists