ANZ Championship final 2015: Queensland Firebirds v NSW Swifts: Tale of the tape

Written by admin on 05/07/2018 Categories: 苏州美甲美睫培训学校

Swifts duo Susan Pettitt and Kim Green. Photo: James BrickwoodThe Swifts have played the Firebirds in Brisbane eight times.  Queensland have won every clash.

Six of the seven grand finals have been won by the hosting side.

Head to head, the sides have played 17 times. The Firebirds have won 11, the Swifts have won five and there has been one draw.

Last three matches:

Conference final:  Firebirds 55-44

Round five:  Firebirds 51-47

Round three: Draw 47-47

This will be the Firebirds’ third consecutive grand final. In 2013 they lost to the Adelaide Thunderbirds. In 2014 they lost to the Melbourne Vixens.

The Firebirds’ only championship triumph was in 2011 when they finished off a 15-game perfect season with a grand final win over the Mystics.

Three players from the 2011 side remain with the Firebirds, Romelda Aiken, Laura Geitz and Claire McMeniman. Rebecca Bulley and Caitlyn Nevins  have also been part of winning teams.

This will be the Swifts’ second grand final. In 2008 they won the championship when they beat the Magic 65-56 in Sydney.

Two players remain from that side, Kimberlee Green and Susan Pettitt. Caitlin Thwaites, Julie Corletto and Sharni Layton  have also won championships.

Television:  Live from 12pm, One and Fox Sports 2

NSW internationals: 

Kimberlee Green (66 caps),  Susan Pettitt (54), Julie Corletto (47), Sharni Layton (22), Caitlin Thwaites (10) Paige Hadley (2), Jade Clarke (115, England).

QLD internationals: 

Laura Geitz (53), Rebecca Bulley (38), Kim Ravaillion (18), Claire McMeniman (1), Romelda Aiken (67, Jamaica).

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美甲美睫培训学校.

Comments Off on ANZ Championship final 2015: Queensland Firebirds v NSW Swifts: Tale of the tape